Eat Green | Live Green

Dancing in the kitchen

My Favorite Mistake October 5, 2010

Filed under: Comfort Food,Mistakes,Nostalgia — Eat Green | Live Green @ 6:53 am

In my lifetime, I’ve had many cooking disasters.  I can vividly remember the yellow cake that reminded me of cinder blocks.  I cringe thinking of the time I mixed up baking soda and baking powder.  On top of all that, the number of times I’ve undercooked vegetables could fill a book.

However, every once in a while, a mistake turns into something fantastic!

Several months ago, I was having one of those days that lends itself to comfort food and all I wanted was my mom’s spinach dip.  I stopped at the store on the way home to pick up all the ingredients.  Vegetable soup mix – check.  Water chestnuts – check.  I had everything else at home, so I was on my way!  (I’m sure you can see where this is going.)

I got home and started throwing the dip together so it could sit for a few minutes before I tore into it.  I mixed the mayo and sour cream, chopped the water chestnuts, threw in the vegetable soup mix, and noticed that something seemed a little off.

I forgot the spinach.  I had no spinach for my spinach dip.  There was no way in hell I was going back to the store.

Rather than trashing the whole thing, I added a little more sour cream and another seasoning packet, and my dip turned out awesome!  Give it a shot at your next get-together and see what people think!

Jennifer’s Spinach-less Spinach Dip
(Based on the Knorr Spinach Dip recipe)

1 container (16 oz.) sour cream
1 cup Hellmann’s® or Best Foods® Real Mayonnaise
2 packages Knorr® Vegetable recipe mix
1 can (8 oz.) water chestnuts, drained and chopped

Stir together and allow to sit as long as you can stand it – at least 1/2 hour.  Don’t serve it super-cold.

 

Leave a comment